top of page

Meet The Team


Salman Ashfaq MD FACC FSCAI


Dr. Salman Ashfaq (Dr. Ash) received his medical degree from King Edward  Medical  University.  He completed his Internal Medicine internship and residency at Barnes-Jewish Hospital and Washington University School of  Medicine in Saint Louis, where he was also selected to be Chief Resident.   He completed his Fellowship in Cardiology and Interventional Cardiology at Emory University School of Medicine in Atlanta, Georgia. After completion of his training, Dr. Ashfaq worked as an Assistant Professor of  Cardiology at the University of Kansas. He  also served as Director of the Cardiac Catheterization Lab at the Robert J. Dole Veteran Affairs Medical Center. Since 2010, Dr.  Ashfaq has served the patients of North Atlanta and Northeast Georgia. He is the founder and managing partner at Cardiovascular Clinic of North Georgia and practices in Gainesville , Braselton & Lawrenceville. He also sees patients at Northeast Georgia Medical Center and Northside Hospital-Gwinnett.
Dr. Ashfaq has special expertise in Nuclear Cardiology and Cardiac interventions including angioplasty, stents, and atherectomy.  He has made several presentations at the local and national conference, authored numerous scientific publications and has been a reviewer for renowned Cardiology journals such as JACC and Circulation. He has served on the Bylaws Committee of Society of Coronary Angiography and Interventions. He is  currently adjunct Clinical Faculty for Northeast Georgia Internal Medicine  Residency and the Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine. 
In addition  to his passion for the care of heart patients, Dr. Ashfaq enjoys has a special interest in the application of artificial intelligence in medicine. He also enjoys watching all  kinds of sporting events, football, soccer and playing  golf.

Sarah Hayat MD

General Secretary

Dr Sarah Hayat is Board Certified in Internal Medicine, Pulmonary Medicine, Critical Care Medicine and Sleep Medicine, Dr. Hayat has been practicing in Gwinnett County for over 14 years. Originally from Karachi, she completed her Undergraduate at St. Joseph's College for Women, attended medical school at the prestigious Aga Khan University Medical College, completed her Internal Medicine Residency and Fellowship training at WVU, Morgantown, where she also served as faculty in Dept. of Pulmonary, Critical Care Medicine. Dr. Hayat has a special interest in the evaluation and management of COPD, Asthma and Sleep-related breathing disorders. She also serves as a staff physician at the Gwinnett Health Department Tuberculosis Clinic. Dr. Sarah Hayat is married to Dr. Khalid Hayat, who is prominent local Cardiologist, Electrophysiologist. Together, they are proud parents of two children. She has a special interest in NeoClassical Architecture, Interior Designing. She also loves cooking, reading, biking and the outdoors.


Saadia Khizer MD MPH CCRC


Saadia Khizer received her medical degree from Fatima Jinnah Medical College, Lahore. She later did Masters in Public Health from Georgia State University and ever since has been in research in various capacities. With more than 10 years of experience at Children's Healthcare of Atlanta, Dr. Khizer applies her expertise in clinical research as Clinical Unit Project Director of the Vaccine Trials Unit at Morehouse School of Medicine. She has led regulatory and training efforts to allow for safe and efficient clinical research practices across inpatient, outpatient, and organization-wide environments. By creating robust processes and working with researchers from top institutions such as MSM, Emory, CDC, and pharmaceutical companies, Dr. Khizer has proven herself as a leader in managing complex clinical research initiatives. Her supervision and direction of regulatory, training, and operational facets have been vital to the accomplishment of multi-center vaccine trials.

Board Of Trustees

Dr. Shahbaz Mirza

Dr. Ashar Niazi

Dr. Roohi Abubakar

Dr. Fareeha Rahim

Dr. Saira Niaz


Next Gen Committee

Khurram Khan

Afsheen Khawaja

Mujtaba Sheikh

Mateen Akmal

Saima Muzahir

Membership Committee

Sohail Ejaz

Saima Khurram

Mehrunissa Khan

Mateen Akmal

Election Committee

Haroon Rashid

Nayyar Islam

Yasmeen Imran

Health Fair Committee

Ghazala Khalid

Umbreen Lodhi

Sarah Hayat

Fatimah Manzoor

Saadia Khizer

Saira Niaz

Fariha Raheem

Saadia Khizer

Bylaws Committee

Yaseen Abubakr

Asif Taufiq

Fareed Qazi

Community Connections Committee


Farooq Soomro

Shahid Ali

Shahneela Memon

Ethics & Grievance Committee

Khizer Ahmed

Khalique Rehman

Adnan Abbassi

bottom of page